One of the most important aspects of life is gratitude. From a physical standpoint to emotional to spiritual, it only provides blessing. Conversely, the opposite is true – to not show gratitude only brings negativity. It’s one of those concepts that inactivity brings just as bad of a reaction as negative activity.

I’m one who has a hard time actively expressing gratitude. Inside, I’m grateful for things that people have done for me, for life, for food, for my circumstances. But it stays inside. On occasion it shows its face in an upper-story window, but that’s generally as “active” as I get in expressing gratitude.

Unfortunately, this lack of active, or external, gratitude leads to hurt feelings from people. You do something for me, I appreciate it internally (but don’t show it), you feel slighted because I haven’t externally shown my appreciation. And you’re absolutely right to feel that way! What does it cost me to say thank you? What does it cost me to show appreciation?

It doesn’t take much, I’ll tell you that! Even if someone does something for you that annoys you. Maybe they tried to do the laundry but screwed up. Or they wrote a poem that sounded horrid to you. Or they paid the wrong bill and now you need to juggle them again to cover the month.

If you start with realizing the person is doing this because they are trying to help, or trying to show you they care, then it will be easier to feel the gratitude. You see a messed up load of laundry, a lousy poem, a financial problem. Make the decision to instead see help with the household chores, a person who cares about you trying to share their feelings, a partner who is trying to be responsible. When you look past the mistakes, and into their motives, you can begin to appreciate even the dumbest of situations.

This is something that I will begin working on in my life. I’d like to start by saying “Thank you.” I thank each and every one of you who has followed me on Twitter, on WordPress, on Facebook, and on all other social media. I thank all of you who have read my posts and tweets, who have liked and shared them. I thank you for all of the comments and feedback. I thank you for the email subscriptions.

I know this simple post doesn’t make up for the lack of appreciation I have shown in the past, but please know that I am grateful for each of you. Internally I have been from the beginning, but outwardly I wanted to say it now too. Thank you.

I’d like to challenge everyone who reads this: Every day I’d like you to thank one person for something. It can be something they’ve done for you or it can be for who they are, or for any other reason. Just show gratitude once per day. Twice if you’re feeling really ambitious!

So what are a few things you are grateful for in your life? If you’d like to share them in the comments below, you’d be most awesome! Thanks a lot!

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. Every once in a while, when I’m writing or drawing or just going through life, there’s just this moment of clarity where I know what I’m doing, I know why and I know I can do it well. I love those moments, and I think they’re just the craziest gift ever.
    So, I’m grateful for those more than anything right now đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

