Ah, we’ve arrived at the end of week 1. We’re a quarter of the way through the month and that means we should be a quarter of the way to our goal. I’m happy to say I added about 2300 words today to bring my total to 12196! Par for the end of today was 11667, so I’m back on top!

Week one has been a roller coaster of excitement, disappointment, exhilaration, confusion, and revelation. I’ve found myself getting on track and having my goal in sight, but the next day falling behind. I’ve had no clue as to where the story was going, and most of what I’ve written has set the scene for what is to come.

Now that I’m journeying into week two, I’m stepping into a place where I’m more comfortable with my story, with my characters, and with my writing process. I find my word sprints raising my “words per hour” from about 1000 to about 1400. This next week should improve my words per hour to about 1800.

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s exciting blog post where I’ll reveal one of the main characters in the story. Perhaps I’ll write a short event relating to him that will fall outside the confines of the story. We’ll see how ambitious I am tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

