Day 5 was my turning point. I shelled out over 3000 words and got myself back on track. My current total is 8612, where I needed to be at 8333 to be on track. This just goes to show that it takes only a day or two to turn things around.

As an example, I want to tell you abut my NaNoWriMo 2013 experience. I had about 25,000 words with a week left to write. I was ready to give up. “It took me 3 weeks to get the first 25k, there’s no way I can do the second 25k in a single week!” I didn’t want to do it anymore because it looked hopeless.

But then a funny thing happened. My work day was completely dead. We had zero work come in, but they did not let people go home just in case work did come in. So I had all day to write and nailed an 8000 word day. The next day we had a trickle of work come in and I pulled in another 7000 words. 15k in two days, 10k to go. I’m back on track needing 2000 words a day. And that renewed my drive. I went on to complete NaNo 2013 on time.

So today’s words of wisdom are to never give up! There is still hope. You can have one or two epic days where everything flows to undo the rough patches you have faced.

Oh, and the 15k I wrote in two days? It wasn’t ‘rushed crap’! It was quality material that brought the novel closer to completion!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day 5

Leave a Reply

