Some days you are just focussed and determined to accomplish whatever task(s) you have before you. Other days you know that it’s a wash before you even open your eyes and get out of bed. But some days you just feel…strange. For me, today is one of those strange days. I woke up early and after taking the kids to school, I was ready to write. I was going to tackle today and force my words onto the screen. I planned to write a short story, one or two new poems, an article that will be entitled “Novel Writing Tips: Locations”, and get some work done on my novel. Well, you can guess how that worked out, since I’m doing none of those things and am instead writing a more personal blog post that I’m sure everyone is wanting to hear (LOL)!

So when I returned home, I became distracted with some yardwork. I didn’t have to do it, but my wife was working out there and I thought I’d spend some time with her. It worked out well – we got a task done that we’d been wanting to do for a few weeks. But by the time I was done, I wasn’t in a bad mood, but I did realize that I really didn’t feel like writing now. I *WANT* to write, because I need to get back on track, but I wasn’t feeling it.

So I grabbed some breakfast and here I sit on the back porch, listening to the clicks, chirps, and buzzing of the forest insects, and trying something different just to put me in a writer’s frame of mind. It seems to be working, as I’m writing at least. But I still don’t feel quite up to the challenge of working on my tasks. I seem to be distracted by fantasy football, a strategy game, checking WordPress, and watching my cat watch the birds. I’m afraid I’ll have to scratch the writing plans I had for today and just hope for the best as the hours unfold. I’ll still post one more poem a little later. Happy writing to you all!

Leave a Reply

